Slow Times in the Checkout Line

Ever run to the pharmacy on your way to work, hoping for a quick in and out? You really need those meds, but you also don’t want to be late for work?  Right??

I usually have pretty good luck when I get there first thing in the morning, and there were only two people in line ahead of me yesterday. At first glance, that seems pretty good…except that out of a row of cash registers, there were only two employees working…at one register…because one was a trainee….and was she ever s l o w.

As I’m standing there, a few more people line up behind me, and we all wait. I start to wonder if I can get back to my car before that thirty minute window expires and the parking garage rate jumps from “free” to “one of your kidneys.”

I could hear some restless grumbles from the people behind (and the two people in front of me…still!), and I think maybe I should speak up, but knew it would come out too snarky.

And then we were all rescued by the older woman two people behind me. Shaking her silver and gray hair, she booms out, “Excuse me, can we get another register opened? The training is too slow! I’m growing older by the minute!” A pause. “There’s things I want to do before I die!”

Amid mumbles of gratitude from the rest of us, another employee showed up! So thank you, dear older woman, I hope you get to finish that list! And I hope it’s a long one too.

Oh, and thank you for making sure I got out of the parking garage with both my kidneys.

One thought on “Slow Times in the Checkout Line

Leave a Reply

