Migraine-zilla

godzilla2014_fan_posterI don’t often get out to movie theaters for the latest blockbuster flicks. As much as I love movies, especially those in the action, sci-fi, fantasy, and horror genres, I’m torn between spending a few bucks for a couple hours entertainment and instead saving my money for a dream two-week vacation in some far off destination. Movies do transport us to other locations we might not otherwise be able to go (or afford to go), and to different times or realities which real travel can not. Placing my feet on the ground and seeing an exotic locale for myself is something which no movie can do.

Still, I joined a friend for a rare treat tonight to see “Godzilla” in 3D, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I do share some of the same criticisms as others: Godzilla wasn’t on screen often enough; rather the other monsters had more screen time. We didn’t get to hear his famous roar often enough (that contrabass first utilized by composer Akira Ifukube). And the first third of the movie was slow to pick up steam. But the special effects were fantastic (loved that EM-pulse attack capability by the MUTOs), and the characters (human and otherwise) pulled me into their world, made me care. I wasn’t the only one cheering and clapping at the end.

It was definitely better than the campy 1998 “Godzilla” starring Matthew Broderick and Jean Reno. I must admit, however, that I do have a certain level of fondness for that film, primarily Reno’s secret agent character and Broderick’s line (in response to Hank Azaria questioning where he’d found Reno): “Uh, he’s from France.” And who could forget the original trailer for the film? So obviously a poke-in-the-eye to the “Jurassic Park” franchise. That’s still one of my all-time favorite trailers.

Unfortunately, I did walk out of the theater with yet another migraine. I’ve been doing quite well lately with the help of acupuncture and my own determination to not let the pain interfere too much with my life. But I figure between the loud volume and all the frenetic action on screen, it was a bit much for my beleaguered brain. Sure, I could’ve chosen to get up and walk out, perhaps asked for a refund, but I wanted to see this movie, and I wasn’t going to let the pain stop me. I’ll just have to take it easy, choose my movies carefully, and hope this sensitivity doesn’t last too long.

F— the monsters (my pain). Go, go Godzilla.

3 thoughts on “Migraine-zilla

Leave a Reply

