Rockin’ a Migraine

ImageFeeling a bit like a zombie today thanks to a setback with the worst migraine I’ve had in two months. It’s the first time since the beginning of February that I’ve had to take a full dose of my zombie-fying medication. But I’ve refused to let the pain or the drugs stop me from accomplishing the many, many things I’ve had to do today.

I’m blaming the wine from last night’s dinner at Fondue Fred. (The fondue craze did not end in the 1970s; at least not in Berkeley.) Excellent food, but I think I should’ve substituted beer for the wine. Alcohol is a prime trigger for many migraine sufferers, but beer has never bothered me. I’ve had difficulty in the past with both white and red (white wine is the worst), but have been fine drinking a rose. Not any more. So remind me in the future: pass up the wine. Drink the beer. (No, I don’t have a hangover. I know what those feel like from my college days.)

It’s a good time to be a beer drinker with all the micro-breweries and the increasing popularity of home-brewing. I’d consider taking up the hobby myself, but I don’t have the space for it…nor the time due to my interests in writing, photography, and cross-stitch. Fortunately I have both a younger brother and a good friend who are home-brewers. (My favorite of their ales: a saison brewed by my brother, and my friend’s Angry Planet Imperial Red Ale, brewed in honor of Curiosity’s landing on Mars on August 6, 2012.) Unfortunately, I don’t live that close to either one of them.

So in the meantime I’ll have to make do with visiting a couple of my favorite local spots: Beer Revolution and The Trappist – both part of Oakland’s burgeoning brew pub scene. And another favorite: The Speakeasy over in San Francisco.

I wonder: do zombies like a good ale? Next time I hear about one of those zombie pub crawls, I’ll have to find out.

Leave a Reply

